The Watonga City Council will meet once a month on the third Tuesday of each month.

Notice:  From the Office of Watonga City Clerk.

As far back as records indicate, the Watonga City Council has always meet at least twice a month.  Starting in January of 2021, the Watonga City Council will meet once a month on the third Tuesday of each month.  The first meeting for 2021 will be Tuesday, January 19.  Click here for agendas.

2020-21 Budget for City of Watonga

Now Online! Watonga City Codes

2020 Watonga City Code Pt I -- Table of Contents - Part 8
2020 Watonga City Code Pt II --Part 9 - end
Codes are now searchable pdf format

Ward Map for City

Notice Regarding Use of Parks
The Splash Pad is open 10 am to 8:30 pm now through Labor Day weekend

Library Hours
M-F 9 am to 6 pm
Closed Saturday and Sunday


Watonga is the county seat of Blaine County, located at the junction where State Highways 8 and 33 meet U.S. Highway 270. The Northwestern Oklahoma community grew from a tent city in the midst of the Cheyenne-Arapaho Reservation. It was part of a non-Indian settlement opened in a land run on April 19, 1892.

The town was named for Arapaho Chief Wa-ton-gha, whose name meant Black Coyote. A post office was established in 1892. In 1902, the Enid and Anadarko Railway opened a line extending west from Guthrie and passed through Watonga. The 60-mile leg was the community’s first rail connection and became a vital transportation link for the area’s growing agricultural industry. Four years later, the Blaine County Courthouse was built and remains as one of several in Oklahoma that predate statehood.

postcard image of early Watonga

In October 1892, Thompson B. Ferguson arrived in Watonga and established the Watonga Republican newspaper. In 1901, President Theodore Roosevelt appointed him as Oklahoma’s eighth territorial governor. He served until 1906, leaving office a year before Oklahoma became the nation’s 46th state.

By 1940, the city had grown to a population of more than 2,800. That same year, the Watonga Cheese Factory was established in a building that had formerly served as an ice and electric plant. The factory, famous for its many dairy products, inspired Watonga’s annual cheese festival in 1976. After operating in Watonga for 70 years, damage from Tropical Storm Erin forced the cheese factory to relocate in 2010, but the annual Watonga Cheese Festival continues to be a community celebration every October.

Watonga’s current population is about 3,000. Famous people from the community include native son Clarence Nash, who provided the voice of Walt Disney’s cartoon character Donald Duck.

Buildings on the National Register of Historic Places include the Watonga National Guard Armory, the Blaine County Courthouse, the Noble Hotel, the Thompson Benton Ferguson House (pictured below), the Cronkhite Ranch House, the U.S. Post Office, and the J. H. Wagner House.

Past Mayors